About the Program

Initiated in Fall 2003, the Visiting Curator Program brings distinguished curators to Cleveland to conduct one-on-one studio visits with local artists as well as deliver a public lecture. The program provides artists with professional exposure and critical feedback from accomplished art world professionals. 

Fall 2016 Visiting Curator

Amanda Hunt is Associate Curator at The Studio Museum in Harlem where she manages the Artist-in-Residence program. Her exhibitions at the Museum include Tenses: Artists in Residence 2015-16, Rashaad Newsome: THIS IS WHAT I WANT TO SEE, Lorraine O'Grady: Art is..., In Profile: Portraits from the Permanent Collection and the group exhibition A Constellation. Hunt is the curator of inHarlem: Kevin Beasley, Simone Leight, Kori Newkirk, Rudy Shepherd, a multi-site public art initiative to be in four Historic Harlem Parks. 

Hunt curated Portland2014: A Biennial of Contemporary Art, presented by Disjecta Contemporary Art Center in Oregon, and was a curator at the non-profit art space LA><ART from 2011-2014. Hunt helped to produce two major initiatives in Los Angeles, including the Pacific Standard Time Performance and Public Art Festival, co-producted by LA><ART and the Getty Research Institute, and Made in LA 2012, the first Los Angeles biennial organized by the Hammer Museum in collaboration with LA><ART. Hunt also seved as the Curatorial Assistant for the Los Angeles City Pavilion for the 9th Shanghai Biennale in 2012. She has workd at various galleries and institutions including Whitechapel Gallery, London; Friedrich Petzel Gallery, New York; the Wattis Institue for Contemporary Arts, San Francisco , and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Hunt holds her MA in Curatorial Practice from California College of the Arts in San Franciso. 

Hunt will choose four regional artists for individual studio visits on November 30, 2016. All applicants will be invited to a reception with Hunt following her public lecture at MOCA Cleveland on Tuesday, November 29, 2016.

How to Apply

Applicants must live in the Cuyahoga County or one of its six contiguous counties (Lorain, Medina, Summit, Portage, Geauga, and Lake). Applicants whose studios are more than 20 miles from MOCA Cleveland may be asked to present their work in a space provided at the Museum. All practicing artists are eligible to apply, as well as students in any year of MFA studies. Artists who were selected for a studio visit with the last Visiting Curator, Cornelia Lauf, are ineligible to apply for a visit with Amanda Hunt, but may re-apply for studio visits with future Visiting Curators. Applications must be submitted online. All materials must be compiled into a single PDF document, not to exceed 50MB. This PDF must be titled “artist last name_artist first name_NSVC Fall 2016”. Applications must include the following images and written information.

  • Up to ten (10) images, captioned with title, date, medium and dimensions
  • One-page Artist Statement
  • Up-to-date curriculum vitae, with current contact information including address, phone, and email

(If applicable) applicants may include one (1) video file, 5 minutes or less in duration. The video must be submitted as a link to an external hosting site (i.e. YouTube or Vimeo). A still from the video should be included as one of the 10 images, with a link to the hosting site directly below the still.

Please note applications not meeting these requirements or applications sent by email or hard copies mailed to MOCA Cleveland will not be reviewed. 

Click Here For Application Page


Applications for a studio visit with Amanda Hunt are being accepted until November 4, 2016. All applicants will be notified by November 21, 2016 of their status.


Cornelia Lauf (Independent Curator)
Adam Lerner (Museum of Contemporary Art Denver)
Naomi Beckwith (Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago)
Andria Hickey (Public Art Fund, New York)
Bartholomew Ryan (Walker Art Center)
Sarah DeMeuse (RIVET, independent curator)
João Ribas (MIT List Visual Art Center)
Ann Ellgood (Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden)
Franklin Sirmans (LACMA)
Ian Barry (The Frances Young Tang Teaching Museum and Art Gallery at Skidmore College)
Laura Hoptman (New Museum)
Raphael Platow (CAC Cincinnati)
Douglas Dreishpoon (The Albright–Knox Art Gallery)
Gregory Volk (art critic, Professor at Virginia Commonwealth University)
Dan Cameron (CAC New Orleans)
Eleanor Heartney (Independent critic and author)
Katy Siegel (Hunter College, independent)
Valerie Cassel Oliver (CAM Houston)
David Pagel (LA Times critic and independent curator)
Amada Cruz (Artedia)
James Elaine (Hammer Museum)
Dominic Molon (MCA Chicago)
Shamin Momin (The Whitney Museum of American Art)