The Transformations Suite

April 14, 2017 / 8:00pm

$15 MOCA Members, Tri-C Staff, and Students
$20 Non-Members  

In partnership with Tri-C Presents

Online ticket sales end at 6pm, Friday, April 14. After this time please purchase your ticket in-person at MOCA's Welcome Center.

Created by Juilliard-trained pianist and composer, Samora PinderhughesThe Transformations Suite is a large-scale composition that combines jazz instrumentals and spoken word to paint a picture of the current state of social inequality and injustice in the United States. The Suite connects contemporary issues, such as the prison industrial complex and the Black Lives Matter movement, with the history of revolutionary movements of color, building a bridge between the past and the future.

Samora Pinderhughes has performed at venues including the White House, the Blue Note, the Museum of Modern Art, the Sundance Film Festival, Monterey Jazz Festival, and Carnegie Hall, and has toured internationally with artists including Branford Marsalis, Christian Scott, Jose James, and Emily King.

Generous support for this program is provided by The City of Cleveland Cable Television Minority Arts & Education Fund of the Cleveland Foundation.


MOCA Cleveland is proud to be a partner in the yearlong, community-wide commemoration of the 50th anniversary of Carl Stokes’ election as mayor of Cleveland. Mayor Stokes and his brother, Congressman Louis Stokes, played key roles in the advancement of the city and the nation through the civil rights movement and beyond. For more information, visit

Click here to join our e-mail list and receive monthly updates on upcoming programs and other news from MOCA.